Easy-to-make Chrysanthemum Konnyaku Jelly

21 Jul

I’m not someone who loves cooking, though I must say I like eating good food. However, I received a very easy recipe from a friend some time back and I’ve decided to try it out during one of my gathering with my old classmates. It was a success. Today, I tried it again but with a change, with less sugar as I’m preparing them for my family and my father is diabetic.

Here’s the recipe. Do try it as the dessert is especially refreshing in the hot weather these days. Not only that, it’s really simple and easy to make! 🙂

Chrysanthemum Konnyaku Jelly

Ingredients

  • A handful of dried chrysanthemum flowers
  • A handful of wolfberry, pre-soaked with hot water
  • 1 packet of Konnyaku jelly powder
  • 2-3 tbsp of sugar (or according to the instructions on the jelly powder)
  • 1250 ml of water

Directions

  1. Put the dried chrysanthemum flowers and wolfberries into a pot filled with 1250 ml of water, and bring to a boil.
  2. Once it’s boiled, sieve out the flowers and wolfberries into a bowl of cool water.
  3. Mix the sugar and Konnyaku jelly powder together.
  4. Prepare the jelly moulds with wolfberries and some chrysanthemum petals.
  5. Remove the pot of hot brew from the stove, add the Konnyaku jelly powder mixture into the stew, stir well to dissolve the jelly mix.
  6. Pour the jelly mixture into the moulds. Let it cool at room temperature before chilling it in the fridge.
  7. Best served cold.

My friend’s recipe is slightly different as she uses osmanthus flowers instead of chrysanthemum flowers. You may want to take a look at her recipe here.

Leave a Reply

