A Word A Week Challenge – Colourful

14 Oct

A Word A Week Challenge is hosted by Skinnywench from A Word in Your Ear. The challenge is to post a photograph, drawing, poem, story, quote, thought – whatever the genre you like best to describe of what that word means to you.. And this week’s theme is colourful.

I always feel that colours can affect our moods and we also portray how we feel by consciously or sub-consiously wearing certain colours. My post shall describe how my mood changes throughout the week. Let’s call the entry “Colours of the Week“.

Monday – Blue

Yes! As you would have guessed, my monday colour is blue simply because I always have monday blues! It’s always so difficult to wake up on Monday to work and I’ll be so slow in reacting to things happening around me at work. Guess my mind and heart are still missing the weekends!

Dark blue has a strong sedative effect on the mind. However, too much dark blue can be depressing!

Tuesday – Violet

After going through Monday, I’ve recovered from “weekend withdrawal symptoms” and can now come to terms with waking up early to work and putting in 100% for my work. It is a transformation from the “relaxed me” to the “efficient me”. I do hope I’m efficient though!

Violet and purple are colors of transformation at a very deep level, bringing peace and combating shock or fear. They also have a cleansing effect in emotional disturbances.

Wednesday – Green

It’s middle of the work week. Physically, I usually feel tired at this point but mentally I know that the weekend is coming soon. So, I would say that I’m in a balanced mood, seeking comfortness while feeling a bit lazy but yet looking forward to a brand new weekend that will arrive soon.

Green creates a feeling of comfort, laziness and relaxation, calmness, and space, lessening stress, balancing and soothing the emotions.

Thursday – Yellow

I’ll have an optimistic viewpoint on most things as it is one more day to Friday! I’m starting to feel happier and less tired. To me, Thursday is the eve of the weekend as my weeked starts from Friday’s evening.

Yellow is also a happy, bright, and uplifting color, a celebration of sunny days.

Friday – Orange

Everything is fun and happy on Friday. My colleagues and I would go further for lunch and I’ll usually arrange to meet up with friends in the evening. Even if I go home straight from work, I’ll make sure I’m occupied with doing things that make me happy. I’ll usually sleep later on Fridays too.

Orange is a joyous color. It stimulates the mind, renewing interest in life; it is a wonderful antidepressant and lifts the spirits.

Saturday- Red

This is a day when all the actions take place. I’ll try not to stay at home but go out and meet up with friends to shop or try out new cafes and restaurants, or just simply to catch some good movies. If I’m staying at home, I’ll most probably be painting or reading. There is a long list of things that I would like to do in future too, such as baking, cooking, sewing or making handicrafts.

Red is a powerful color that has always been associated with vitality and ambition.

Sunday – Turquoise

This is a day for me to calm down after all the actions. I prefer to relax at home and watch movies or surf the net. Even if I go out, I’ll try to do so in the morning and afternoon, making sure I’m back home in the evening so that I’ve time to bring myself into a “zen state” and get prepared for Monday (though not very successful).

Turquoise is invogorating, cooling, and calming. Like green, turquoise is good for mental strain and tiredness or feeling washed-out. It is an elevating color that encourages us to make a sparkling fresh start.

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************

All quotes from The Complete Book of Color by Suzzi Chiazzari.

3 Responses to “A Word A Week Challenge – Colourful”

  1. riemkusa October 14, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Orange, the only color you can taste.

  2. skinnywench October 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Love the way you link emotions to colour – nice interpretation 🙂

  3. mindomin October 15, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    How nice, the combination of photos, explanation and quotes.

Leave a Reply

